2018 Excellence in Design Award Winners Announced

Annapolis, MD / September 27, 2018 – AIA Maryland announced the Excellence in Design winners this evening during our annual celebration held this year at the U.S. Naval Academy Stadium in Annapolis. Members and guests enjoyed great food from Bo Brooks at the Academy and watched a bit of football practice from the Flag Bridge during the pre-awards networking event.

The program opened with the Student Awards with students from Anne Arundel Community College and University of Maryland taking top honors. Before the Architect awards were announced, attendees were introduced to Dr. Mohammad Gharipour of Morgan State University as he was presented with the Distinguished Educator of the Year Award.

Below are the Honor awards in each category. You can find more winning entries and all the submissions in our Gallery.

Laurel Branch Library by Grimm + Parker Architects





Commercial Architecture:
Greencourt Innovation Center by McInturff Architects





Abu Dhabi National Oil Company Headquarters by HOK & CH2M






Institutional Architecture:
University of Pennsylvania, Stephen A. Levin Building for Neural and Behavioral Sciences by SmithGroup





Interior Architecture
American Greetings Headquarters by CallisonRTKL, Inc.





Residential Architecture:
Baltimore Slate House by Ziger/Snead Architects





Acton Cove by Bates Masi + Architects