2019 Excellence in Design Awards Celebration

The annual AIA Maryland Excellence in Design Awards Celebration was held on September 26, 2019 at R.House in Baltimore. Our program recognizes architects and celebrates building owners, contractors and, architectural students for their outstanding achievements in architectural design in support of the profession of architecture and The AIA.

This year, AIA Maryland presented the inaugural Capital Award to Senator Joan Carter Conway. The Capital Award recognizes those individuals who advance and promote the profession of architecture through significant statewide service, public engagement or legislative action. Click HERE to see all the event photos.

There were 123 professional entries and the jury recognized 26 projects from 17 different firms. The 2019 Public Building of the Year award was presented to DLR Group for Good Hope Neighborhood Recreation Center.

There were 43 student submissions this year and winners included students from Anne Arundel Community College, Morgan State University and, the University of Maryland School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.

See all the winners in our Gallery

The distinguished panel of jurors for 2019, Chaired by Ruth Gless, FAIA, is courtesy of AIA Ohio. Juror, Joseph A. Moss, AIA greeted attendees and provided comments from the jury as well as a bit of humor when talking about the projects. Meet the Jury.