Preservation Architecture Intern Working on the Eastern Shore

AIA Maryland and Preservation Maryland have partnered to award a Preservation Architecture Internship for work on Maryland’s Eastern Shore.

Earlier this year, AIA Maryland joined forces with Preservation Maryland to offer special funding to support a preservation architecture internship in the state. This position will provide students the opportunity to experience historic preservation first-hand and support the diverse and complex work of saving our older buildings. Interns will be engaged in a wide variety of projects, including field work (documentation, measuring, photography, etc.) as well as producing 2D/3D drawings for significant historic sites. The hope is that this internship could become an annual award co-sponsored by the organizations to raise awareness for some of Maryland’s architectural gems which are in desperate need of better documentation.

Our selected intern for 2019, Armando Mauricio Martinez, hails from Frederick and is currently a second year student at Anne Arundel Community College. He will be transferring to Morgan State University where he will be pursuing a M.A. degree with a minor in museum studies. Since childhood he has developed many varied interests such as geology, art, Legos and fashion. The combination of these experiences led Armando to study architecture, which has really become his passion. Armando will be supervised by Historic Resources Committee Chair Barton Ross, AIA, with funding provided by AIA Maryland and Preservation Maryland.

The building Armando will be working on this fall is the Queen Anne’s County Court House. It is located on the town square in Centreville, and was originally constructed from 1792-96, during the presidency of George Washington. It has been continually used by the county ever since and is now recognized as the oldest continually used courthouse in the state of Maryland and the sixth oldest in the United States. The Court House remained in its original state until after the Civil War when in 1876, plans were made to rebuild the structure, “on a scale which will change it from one of the most inconvenient to one of the most desirable of our county buildings.” Aside from this reconstruction, which was accomplished for $6,800 under the direction of Baltimore architect James Crawford Neilson, the exterior of the Court House is virtually the same as it was when originally constructed.

Follow along in the coming months as we update Armando’s progress on this important project.

Read more about architect J. Crawford Neilson here: http://baltimorearchitecture.org/biographies/j-crawford-neilson/